Driving a car again

Unlike many RVers I don’t pull a small vehicle for driving around, commonly called a “toad”. So I am familiar with driving and parking my 1-ton Ford. Until we remove the camper from the truck tomorrow, I’m driving my son’s Matrix. I have driven it when he needed to borrow my truck, but it always takes some getting used to.

I don’t need to swing so wide on turns. There are no duallies to worry about, and the Matrix fits into any parking space. The brakes are really sensitive! This morning I wanted to return something to Costco, so I put Lady in the back of the vehicle and started out. The first time I wanted to stop, the dog bed with Lady on it slid forward to the back of the front seats. I think she was really surprised, and I thought I would have a dog in my lap before the short trip was over.

I can’t back it into my parking space without having to go back and forth lots of times to get it right, whereas I can just put the truck in reverse and usually zip right into the space on first try. It’s funny how most people are intimidated by the thought of driving such a big truck, whereas I am intimidated by a little car!

I ran into my upstairs neighbor when coming back from Lady’s walk today, and we stopped to talk for a while. He is such a nice young man, and I didn’t have the heart to complain about anything. I only have 3 more months on my lease, and I’ve gotten through the worst part, I hope.

I cooked a big pot of chili today to battle the cooler weather. It smells so good I will probably eat supper early tonight.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Driving a car again

  1. I guess that just proves that you are good at what you are used to. If you drove a small car for a month, the truck would seem a bit odd.Chili is always good.

  2. Dizzy-Dick says:

    Just pretend you are driving the truck. That may work. 🙂

  3. It's always an adjustment for me to go from the automatice big class A to my stick shift tiny toad. I feel so tiny on the road in the toad, and really enjoy the 'view from the top' of the motorhome. Just a couple of days ago I forgot to put in the clutch at a stop sign, and the toad died. 🙂

  4. That chili sounds really good. The weather has been great down here in AZ but the nights get so chilly as soon as the sun goes down.

  5. Anonymous says:

    Love the name of your new RV Sir Lance A Lot—it reminds me of my elevenfootrv—there is a lot of room in one of those isnt there – especially if you like to be outside alGlad you are enjoying it — look forward to seeing you when you come to asheville –there is a free parking space in our driveway!!!t…

  6. I have backed up 5th wheels, travel trailers, utility trailers etc but it is the little Jeep I am having the most trouble with because of it's short wheelbase. I keep cutting the corners to sharp & it is taking me awhile to get used to it. I never would have thought one of the smallest vehicles I have ever had would thwart me so much. Getting used to in now but it's a wonder I haven't tore off a mirror or two.

  7. pidge says:

    I know driving a car for the first time, after getting our big ole truck, was a hoot. I was constanly checking the mirrors to make sure I wasn't in someone's lane, other than my own. Then I would remember I was in a little car. I no longer feel safe in a small car either. Also feel like I am riding right on the road, instead of up in the air like normal.

  8. Bob says:

    Chili…did someone say chili? Sounds good!

Leave a Reply

